Visit Homepage for interesting activities

Long Weekend Holidays 2017

Long weekends are ideal for mini-vacations…

Long vacations enable quick getaways for the wanderlust-bitten. Travel agencies offer special itineraries around these weekends at discounted prices. Short vacations lasting over 3 or 4 days are excellent to rejuvenate and revive the spirits after the hectic life that one is exposed to in India's metros. People do get fed up with routine and like to grab any opportunity to escape the cities. It is observed that fewer people prefer to stay at home during long or extended weekends.

One can visit nearby tourist spots or go on short vacation to go any other place in India or to countries like Hong Kong-Macau, Dubai, Nepal, Bhutan, Mauritius, Singapore, Thailand and Malaysia.

The year 2017 has no less than 14 long weekends…

As can be seen in the Resources section below, in 2017 quite a few public holidays occur just prior to Saturdays or just after Sundays. In case the public holiday is on a Thursday or Tuesday, casual leave could be taken for the intervening working day so that the weekend truly stays long!

So go ahead and pan short vacations to diverse destinations during some of the weekends that are left. It is well-known that earlier the travel and hotel bookings are made, cheaper will be the tariffs that one would have to incur.

However, since Banks work for full day on 1st, 3rd and 5th (if any) Saturdays, Bank employees will not be able to take advantage of long weekends due on Shivaji Jayanti, Ambedkar Jayanti / Ram Navami, Maha Shivratri and Ganesh Chaturthi unless they avail leave on the intervening Saturday.  

Resources
Submit a New Resource Entry  -  Inform Correction in an Existing Entry  -  Submit Feedback   

A. Saturday 14 January 2017 : Pongal & Makar Sankranti

Regular 2-day weekend, can extend to 3 days by taking leave on Friday or Monday.

B. Thursday 26 January 2017 : Republic Day

4-day weekend by taking leave on Friday.

C. Friday 24 February 2017: Maha Shivaratri

3-Day weekend from Friday to Sunday

D. Monday 13 March 2017: Holi

3-day weekend from Saturday to Monday

E. Tuesday 28 March : Gudi Padwa & Ugadi

4-day weekend from Saturday to Tuesday by taking leave on Monday.

F. Tuesday 4 April 2017: Ram Navami

4-Day weekend from Saturday to Tuesday by taking leave on Monday.

G. Friday 14 April: Good Friday & Ambedkar Jayanti

3-Day weekend from Friday to Sunday

H. Monday 1 May 2017: May Day and Maharashtra Day

3-Day weekend from Saturday to Monday.

I. Monday 26 June 2017: Eid-ul-Fitr

3-Day weekend from Saturday to Monday

J. Tuesday 15 August 2017: Independence Day & Krishna Janmashtami

4-Day weekend from Saturday to Tuesday by taking leave on Monday.

K. Friday 25 August 2017: Ganesh Chaturthi

3-Day weekend from Friday to Sunday

L. Monday 2 October 2017: Gandhi Jayanti

4-Day weekend from Saturday to Monday

M. Thursday 19 October: Diwali & Friday 20 October: New Year &
Saturday 20 Oct: Bhai Dooj

4-day weekend from Thursday to Sunday

N. Monday 25 December 2017: Christmas

3-Day weekend from Saturday to Monday

Comments & Reviews